LA and San Fran!

Hi readers,

I’ve got lots to catch you up on, so buckle up and enjoy!

After my last post, we spent another week in LA, which I really loved! Most exciting of all, I made my debut as Nicola- the principal role that I understudy. It was incredibly fun and I’ll write more about it below! A few bullet points on some more LA highlights

-Adam arrived on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving, and after my Wednesday night show, we went to PUMP! For those that don’t know, I’m unhealthily addicted to all things Real Housewives related, and Lisa Vanderpump is one of the housewives on the Beverly Hills version. She has a plethora of fancy restaurants/lounges in the LA/Beverly Hills area, and there was no way I was leaving LA without trying them out. Pump is an incredibly gorgeous lounge with the most beautiful olive garden- no literally, it’s an OLIVE GARDEN, with olive trees that have been flown in internationally and planted in this stunning garden. We were especially psyched because I had read on twitter an hour or so before we went that Lisa herself was there (she is there pretty often, mingling) and so after the show, we rushed over there, only to find out she had left 10 minutes before we arrived. Major bummer, but I was just so thrilled to be with Adam that I quickly forgot about it and enjoyed some amazing cocktails and food.

10517575_10205429329432120_123104860051258784_n

-Thanksgiving! Thanksgiving is a tough holiday to be away from family, but Adam and I tried to make the most of it and had a lovely day/evening together. We started out by doing a Warner Brothers Studio tour- it was really cool and super interesting- I wish we had a more engaging tour guide, but other than that, Adam and I had a wonderful time. We got to see the sound studios, walk on various sets, go behind the scenes in prop shops, etc. Really cool tour and I’m glad we did it. Best of all, we got to sit on the FRIENDS set!

10407746_10203724204530224_4259672454226504622_n

After the tour, we went back to our beautiful Malibu home for the weekend (Thanks again, Jim Dooley!) and we took a little cat nap and got ready for Thanksgiving dinner. We decided to make reservations at a beautiful restaurant in West Hollywood, just the two of us. The restaurant and experience overall was wonderful and gorgeous, but the food was just OK. A bit of a disappointment, since Thanksgiving is all about THE FOOD, but in the end it’s all good.

-I found out on Thanksgiving that due to some various family emergencies going on in our cast, that I would be making my Nicola debut the next day. My immediate reaction was pure excitement, because Adam was in town and we would be able to buy him a ticket to see me make my debut in that role. Then I got that nervous feeling in the pit of my stomach, but I immediately told myself to shut it down. I know the role inside and out, and have done it plenty of times in rehearsals. I knew that I knew it, so I basically had to tell myself that there was no point in being nervous and jittery. Usually when I get the jitters-whether it be before a final callback or performing a major role- I’m unable to shake the jitters and it slides in to affect me in one way or another that I’m usually annoyed about. For whatever reason, I was able to forbid it this time and I am happy to say that although my heart was beating fast, I was calm, cool and collected, and thus gave a performance that I was truly proud of. My cast was incredibly supportive, warm and generous. It made me so unbelievably happy to know that they had my back. I could feel the love radiating from them, but it meant the world to me. Plus knowing that Adam was out there watching, I was so thrilled. Another wonderful treat- Our director, Jerry Mitchell, happened to be in town that evening for the performance and got to see me do the role. Below are some photos from my debut!

IMG_8491 IMG_8492 IMG_8493 IMG_8551 IMG_8516 IMG_8515 IMG_8518 IMG_8550 IMG_8552 IMG_8528 IMG_8549 IMG_8548IMG_8547

– We also celebrated our 100th performance in LA! YAY!

IMG_8555

-Adam and I enjoyed many more LA experiences/restaurants together including, Spago (Wolfgang Puck’s restaurant- outstanding), Cafe Gratitude (Vegan/raw/organic restaurant- delicious), Bazaar by Jose Andres (PHENOMENAL- RUN, DO NOT WALK), hiking Runyon Canyon (Adam loved it!), and Pizzeria Mozza (Mario Batali’s pizzeria, excellent). We had such a great time and though I officially despise LA traffic like everyone said I would, I really did love LA and could see myself spending more time there in the future. I have concluded that while I don’t know that I would want to live there, I would go back and explore more!

SAN FRANCISCO!

Early Monday morning, I woke up and made the 5.5 hour drive to San Francisco. I adore driving, so I was really looking forward to some time out on the open road with me, myself, and my Ipod. The drive was smooth, quick, and easy. I arrived to San Francisco somewhere around 2-3pm. We are in San Francisco for an entire month (Dec 1-28) and my mother’s cousin Howard (my first cousin, once removed) and his husband Scott, have welcomed me to stay in their beautiful Oakland home for the entire month- talk about generosity. It’s really wonderful to be with family, especially during the holidays. Scott is an EXTRAORDINARY home cook and has been spoiling me left and right with his outstanding skills and recipes. Howard and Scott keep such a gorgeous home so it has been a complete joy staying with them so far. Check out some of the deliciousness we (cough, Scott, cough) have concocted so far. Is it clear I’m in total heaven? Check out Scott’s twitter: https://twitter.com/scott_d

and Instagram: http://instagram.com/scott_d/

or his blog: http://scottandhoward.com/In_Scotts_Kitchen/In_Scotts_Kitchen/Home/Home.html

for more of his amazing cooking/baking adventures. He’s incredible.

IMG_8607 IMG_8622 IMG_8676 IMG_8683 IMG_8701 IMG_8702

The theater in San Francisco is quite beautiful. I can’t say the neighborhood in which it is located is my favorite, but I really like the more intimate, old school theater. The walls are stunning. Check this out.

IMG_8617

-In San Francisco, we have seen many understudies and swings make their debuts in various different tracks which is so exciting. It is so amazing to get support from your tour family and get to give it back to others- it’s a never ending chain and we are all there for each other which makes this experience even sweeter. I am really proud of the comradery we have developed in this company.

– I got to see one of my great friends from high school, Jenna! She came to see the show last week with her boyfriend, Paul. They are both medical students at Stanford and it was a blast getting to catch up with them and do dinner. Getting to see your friends in various parts of the country is what makes tour even more special.

– We sang at a lovely benefit on our night off, Monday, for The Richmond/Ermet AIDS Foundation. It was a holiday benefit, and I got to sing a beautiful song called “My Grown Up Christmas List.” It’s always an honor to sing for charity and it was a wonderful use of our day off. Plus we had a blast at the after party! IMG_8636 10419399_10152684412338411_3977738559126764125_n

– The weather here in SF has been pretty awful. Terrible winds, rain, and cold! This area has been in quite a drought for some time, so I know they need the rain, but seriously?! This has been pure insanity. Since the theater isn’t in my favorite part of town, it’s tough to get around to other areas when the weather is so bleak.

-We went wine tasting in Sonoma! About 20 of us gathered onto a bus and got a beautiful tour through wine country, organized by SF’s own Anne Tolpegin and Lindsay Nicole Chambers. We went to Anne’s parents house in Sonoma, drove through some gorgeous scenery and went to 3 wineries. We also had a lovely Italian meal back in SF at the end of the night. I thought life couldn’t get any better. I thought everything was going swimmingly. I slept over Grace’s place because I didn’t feel safe driving home after a whole day of drinking and I woke up the next morning only to discover that the keys to my rental car had disappeared somewhere unbeknownst to me. GREAT! Of course, I freaked out and was beside myself- how could I have been so irresponsible? I’m one of those crazy type A people who are scary organized and never procrastinate and here I am, keyless. I never did find them, and my best guess is that somewhere along the way, I went to pay for something at a winery and didn’t shut my bag, and maybe they fell out. Pretty upsetting. So hundreds of dollars worth of locksmith fees later, I have a new pair of keys and all is well in the world… i guess. OOF. Not my finest moment.

Anyway, I think that’s enough for now. Adam arrives TOMORROW to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary! He has the most amazing celebration planned, including a 2 night stay in Yountville in Napa Valley, visits to incredible wineries, and the creme de la creme, RESERVATIONS AT FRENCH LAUNDRY! For those that aren’t familiar, French Laundry is one of the top 50 restaurants in the world and one of the top 10 in the country. It is nearly impossible to get a reservation, and it takes about a year and a half to get one. Therefore, I have no idea how Adam managed to score this, but I am overwhelmed with excitement. I’ve been wanting to go there for the longest time, and it will be so special to celebrate our anniversary there. We are also dining at another one of Thomas Keller’s restaurants on Monday night, Ad Hoc- also outstanding. Can’t wait! I also have a major anniversary surprise for him, but I can’t reveal it on here- he might read this 😉

Until next time!

xo,

B

